Merlin

Merlin
Merlin
Merlin
Merlin
Merlin
Merlin

I heard about some Merlin occurrences in the Coyote Hills Regional Park so I decided to check it out. I hadn’t looked for longer than a minute when I spotted this cute little fella warming up in the sun on a high up branch. It seemed quite indifferent about the people that crossed a trail only 10 feet from its tree so I decided it would be safe to approach this Merlin. After a while, of stretching his wings and tails I thought he might take off but something changed his mind. It seemed that he caught a little insect of some kind in his claw without even leaving his branch! Once he finished his little snack and I was just about to leave, he took off towards the golden hills of Coyote Hills Regional Park. This was probably the quickest I have ever spotted a new species of raptors.

Bird Count: 191

Leave a comment